Back From The Grave
September 4, 2012, 6:22 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Over the weekend, my girlfriend reminded me about my poor, neglected blog and asked why the hell I haven’t updated it in so long. Her inquiry got me thinking and I decided maybe it was time to give this thing another shot but, before I start posting new content again, I thought I’d offer up an explanation as to why I’ve been M.I.A. During the life of this blog, I was a staff writer for PopMatters and then Under The Radar magazine. Most of my writer-ly energy was being spent on reviews and interviews for those publications and, over time, my desire/drive to update this blog naturally decreased – partially because of time constraints and partially because I figured “who cares?” While writing for PopMatters and UTR, I became increasingly disenchanted with being a music critic/journalist due to working for publications/editors I had very little respect for and also because being a music geek just didn’t feel fun anymore. The greatest continuous source of joy in my life was becoming a chore and a burden. I walked away from both jobs because I just didn’t give a fuck about either of them anymore and this blog was a casualty of those feelings. I’m not sure how frequently I’ll post or what shape my posts will take (or if anyone even cares) but I do know that I’m only going to write when I truly feel the desire. I no longer want obligations, deadlines or that phantom pressure of keeping up with EVERYTHING all of the time. I just want this to be fun.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

