Smith Westerns – “All Die Young”
January 22, 2011, 7:20 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

I know I just did a post on these guys, but I felt inclined to do a quick follow-up as “All Die Young” is currently my favorite song of this very young year.  Granted, that designation may not carry much weight right now, but I’m confident my feelings won’t be wavering anytime between now and December.  As I stated in my post on “Weekend”, Dye It Blonde is inhabited by a trio of ghosts: Marc Bolan, Mick Ronson and, most strongly, George Harrison.  When I first heard the band rehearsing “All Die Young” in Ryan McGinley’s Friends Forever (a very short film also featuring Girls), it gave me some serious chills because, Jesus Christ, it sounded like an outtake from George Harrison’s All Things Must Pass.  Not in the sense that it was derivative, but because it was so clearly of THAT caliber.  I know – how hyperbolic of me, but, fuck it, I’m standing by it.

Dye It Blonde is out now via Fat Possum.

“All Die Young”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

